How do Delete An Instagram Account (Easy Steps)

Understand the step by step on how to delete an Instagram account from your computer or cell phone and ask other frequently asked questions

Permanently deleting an Instagram account is a simple and quick process that can be done from the computer, mobile browser or the application on the iPhone (Android does not offer this possibility). Read on and see the step-by-step guide on permanently deleting your Instagram account without a headache.

The time needed:  5 minutes.

The process is very smooth and as already mentioned, it can be done from the computer, through the application on the iPhone, or through the browser on Android devices, using Chrome, for example.

  1. Go to the delete page;

Click and access the official link for deletion ( instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/ ). Yes, the page still has the old Instagram interface. You will be prompted to log in if you have not yet signed in with your account.

  1. Answer the question;

There is a box asking, “Why do you want to delete (username)?”  Choose one of the eight available options. Depending on your answer, Instagram may suggest solutions for the reason for the deletion.

  1. Enter your password;

After selecting the reason, you will need to enter your password again.

  1. Click on “Delete (username)”;

Below the button is the date on which your Instagram will be permanently deleted.

How to Delete Instagram Account from Mobile on iPhone

  1. Access the settings page

First, open the Instagram app and go to the settings page;

  1. Select “Delete Account”

Next, tap “Account” and select the “Delete Account” option located at the bottom of the screen;

  1. Confirm the request

Choose between “Deactivate” and “Delete”, enter the reason, and confirm by typing your password again.

On video (Youtube): how to delete Instagram

What happens when you delete your Instagram account?

By permanently deleting, your account and the activities of the profiles you followed will be deleted. That’s why it’s important that you make a backup of all your photos on Instagram if you have content that you want to keep.

How long for the account to be deleted?

After 30 days of the request, the account will be permanently deleted. During this period, content is not available on Instagram to other users and remains subject to the Terms of Use and Data Policies. However, the entire process can take up to 90 days to complete. Instagram states that it can keep a copy of the content during this period and that it can also keep the information back in case of legal problems, violations of terms, or prevention of damages.

Can I go back with the same username?

You can sign up for Instagram again using the same deleted username or add it to an existing account. It’s just not possible to do this if someone else is using the name or if your account has been removed for violating the social network’s guidelines.

Is there a way to temporarily disable Instagram without having to delete it?

Yes, Instagram allows you to temporarily disable an account. In this case, the entire profile will be hidden, but you don’t lose anything and you can still reactivate the account in the future.

Can I temporarily disable the Instagram account through the app?

As well as to delete the account, it is necessary to do the process by computer, mobile browser, or the application via iPhone. Android does not allow this process in the app.

Can I block people or deprive posts so I don’t have to deactivate/delete the account?

Yes, you can deprive your profile so that only approved friends can see your content or block a person’s account and the new accounts they create.

Can I delete or disable Instagram without logging in?

Not. For security reasons, you are required to log in to your account. If you do not remember the password, you must complete the recovery process.

 

Leave a Comment